…it's a passionate obsession.

Taste of summer

Strawberries, one of the most versatile fruits available and growing in my garden. If you’ve never tasted a sun warmed, freshly picked strawberry, straight off the plant, then your missing out on one major sweet, juicy pleasure – not long till I do just that.

Strawberry plants are very easy to look after – first year ;-

  1. Choose a weed free, full sun, fertile, well-drained site.
  2. Space plants 10-12 inches a part.
  3. Before planting add extra organic matter to make the soil rich.
  4. Once planted keep soil moist.
  5. In first year remove flowers to encourage a strong root system.
  6. Remove dead leaves at the end of the season.

Second year and thereafter ;-

  1. In spring feed plants with a general fertiliser such as growmore.
  2. Weed and keep moist.
  3. During the growing season, feed every 7-14 days with a liquid potash such as tomato feed.
  4. As fruits start to swell, lay either straw or fibre mats around plants to prevent strawberries from being contaminated by soil.
  5. Pin down any runners until a good root system develops, then cut from the mother plant.
  6. Once harvesting as finished, remove old leaves, straw or fibre mats and do a general tidy-up of the area to prevent a build-up of pests and diseases.

Strawberry plants crop at their best for 3 years, use runners as a replacement of old plants. It’s also a good idea to use the crop rotation method as this helps to minimise attacks from pests and diseases that lurk in the soil.

6 responses

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Nice, informative post on strawberries – we tried them for a couple of years and really enjoyed the berries. I never had enough to make a jam or jelly, but plenty for toppings on pancakes and cereal, or just to pop in your mouth. I will definitely try again with a planting this fall. They were solidly productive for two years, plus a starter year before that. But I didn’t spend any time on the runners, so they fizzled out. next time….:)

    May 22, 2012 at 2:37 pm

  2. I planted four strawberry plants in a small space inbetween my herbs. I think I have them too close together and just decided to do it as an experiment. There is plenty of sun and organic matter but they may crowd each other out too quickly. I guess I’ll see and if they have to move, I’ll find another spot. Love the closeups of the flowers and new berries.

    June 8, 2012 at 6:54 am

    • Strawberries and herbs – nice planting combination.

      June 8, 2012 at 11:49 am

      • Hopefully I won’t have to move some of the plants elsewhere but I did think it would make a nice combination. I also have a Rhubarb plant close by but my daughter’s renters nd husband have been picking off the stocks and eating them raw. I hope I have enough left to make a Rhubarb Crisp.

        June 8, 2012 at 8:14 pm

      • Fingers crossed they leave enough for you.

        June 9, 2012 at 9:40 am

      • I guess I better pick a few stocks before they are all gone. Then it would be my loss, lol!

        June 9, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

